Most of us store music in two places: on our computer and on our iPod or other MP3 player. But if your computer crashes indefinitely, all the music you hopefully purchased disappears along with it. So what's left? A handicapped iPod, as Apple restricts its gadgets to sync with one music library--any attempts to sync with a different computer will result in a deleted iPod.
Prevent iTunes From Automatically Syncing With Your Device
Do you have an old iPod that's sitting around gathering dust? It might still have old music on it that you no longer possess in any other form. If that's the case, grab your old music player, because you can transfer the music from your iPod to your computer. To do so, you just need to consider your iPod as an external drive that you can take music from. Once extracted from the iPod, you can add music to your iTunes library and even sync it with your iPhone. We'll show you how. First, you'll need to make sure you can transfer the music on your iPod without iTunes erasing it while syncing. When you connect a device to iTunes, the music in your iTunes library is automatically synced to your device. You cannot download music from an iPod or iPhone or iPad into iTunes.
Copy Music From Your iPod to Your Computer
To create this article, 24 people, some anonymous, worked to edit and improve it over time. The wikiHow Tech Team also followed the article's instructions and verified that they work. This article has been viewed , times.
The original iPod was released in , which is almost two decades ago. Since then, hundreds of millions of iPods have been sold. Many MP3 players had been released way before the iPod showed up though, but its debut on the market made the MP3 player a must-have device. Your old music may not be readily available in any other form, but you can transfer the music from your iPod to your computer. Note: The music files from your iPod have four-letter names, and you can see each of their tags in File Explorer. This allows you to move the original files anywhere else without worrying about losing them. Any files you added to the library before enabling the checkbox will still link to the original files. The first line is a command to display all the files, while the second one refreshes Finder for the changes to be effected.